How have the changes in the skilled visas affected you?

Guest Rhubarb

I'm looking to writing an article about how these changes in priority processing have had an effect on people applying for the visas.

How do you feel about the way the changes were announced (or not!).

How will affect your application?

How do you feel about the changes in general?

You can contact me at lisa@socketcreative.com.

Or you can use this thread to offer each other support and a shoulder to rage on!

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest angus family

we spoke to our agent yesterday and he said we could be looking at 2012 before we get looked at we changed from a 175 to a 176 lodged on 26.5.09 so near yet so far again

Hi Rhubarb,

we're applying for a SS 176 visa which was acknowledged with DIAC on the 8th of September. we were preparing to get police checks and meds done in the next month or so, now these changes come in! my occupation is not in the CSL, so we're bumped down 3 places in the queue. we were looking to have a reccie next year. i don't think that's going to happen now.

to say we're disappointed would be the biggest understatement of the year!:mad:

So so gutted by the latest news.

We're amongst the unfortunate who've been affected by the new legislation: a 176 SS (Vic) non-CSL.

But despite the lack of hope for a visa until 2012 at least, I couldn't quite kick the daily habit of checking our visa status. Ironically it states (today)

"24/9/09 - Medicals finalised"

and they only arrived at HOC Sydney on Monday morning, only 4 days ago & our PCC were completed and uploaded yesterday morning. We should be singing from the rooftops.

How ironic - so near and yet so far. And so much money too - £726 this month on meds & police checks alone. In total close to £3k and we (almost) did it without an agent!