Not enough points due to age, so no 189/190 visa; possible for teacher to get 186/187 visa?

MissMalone

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post on PomsinOz!

I've done a good bit of searching on the forum and elsewhere online and can't seem to find an answer to my question, so I was hoping someone here would have advice!

I'm currently 38, and recently made a career change to get into teaching. I am completing a Bachelors degree at the moment and next year do a PGCE. Great, that gets me 15 points and also means I met the requirements for teacher's education in Oz.

However, by the time I qualify as a teacher I'll be aged 41. Not so great, as I will have moved up an age bracket and lose 10 points. Giving me 15 for age instead of 25 points.

I had intended to apply for a 190 visa to either WA or SA as primary school teacher is on their state lists. But with only 15 points for my age (plus 20 for english and 15 for education) I only have 50 points. Even if I wait until I have 3 years experience to get an extra 5 points, I am still stuck on 55 points! So it would seem that the 190 visa just won't be an option for me.

It seems that a non-points based visa will be my only option - either the 186 or 187 employer sponsored visas.

So after all that explanation my question is.... can schools directly sponsor teachers on a 186/187 visa and/or does anyone have any experience of this?

Or does anyone have any additional advise or know anything different from what I posted hre regards points, eligibility etc.

Thanks so much for taking the time to read my post :)

P.S. If was to apply under my current profession of a Graphic Designer I would have more than 60 points, however Graphic Designer is only on Schedule 2 and not on any state sponsored lists. So I believe that excludes me for 189 and 190 visa application.

Hi there

I am hoping I can help as I was in the same shoes as you.