Midwifery in Oz!

marieh

Im currently a student midwife but want to move after I qualify and have about 2/3years experience, so im planning very much ahead!! Just wondered if anyone can give me any information on midwifery in Australia?

Im I likely to obtain a visa?

Will I be able to travel with my partner if we are not married?

What is the pay like?

How does midiwfery work in Australia (is it midwifery led or consultant led)?

I realise that there are a lot of questions there!!! If anyone can answer any or pass on any advice I would be extremely greatful.

Thanks so much

Marie

xx

hi

once youve qualified you shouldnt have any problems getting a visa, as a midwife is on the in demand list, there are lots of different types of visa's most hospital's will sponsor you but these are usually on a temp basis but you can still apply for perm visa once you start work.

Where are you based in the uK, im a community midwife in the west midlands and love my job that's why its taken us as a family 4 years to finally decide where to live. ive been offered a job in Brisbane its a rare opportunity the job is for a teenage midwifery group practice midwife, they do not really have community midwives in OZ so this is a good job and i get only 4 patients a month tolook after (different to here)

I know everyone has there own views on midwifery here, but personally I would never ever even if salary 10 times more than now would work back inside a hospital, too stressfull, too short staffed and not a supportive environment. so for me there was a real need to find a job in the community.

In OZ there is private care and public care, for what i can understand public care means as a midwife your job would be similar to the UK. However in private hospitals you are considered as an obstetric nurse and you have to fill an incident form in if you del a baby.