Visa Issue - Transferring to mu Companies office in Sydney

eadesman

Hi All,

Towards the end of the year I will be moving to Sydney. My company in London want to send me to their Sydney office to work for them.

As I understand it, this will need to be done on a 457 visa. I am a Software Developer and the skilled occupations list says that I need a degree to be eligible for this occupation in Australia. I don't have a degree, I just have a diploma (one level lower) and have been working as a Software Developer for around 2.5 years.

Will my lack of a degree be a problem. After all, I'll be doing the same job in Sydney as I'm doing in London and for the same employer.

I'm not interested in permanent residency at this point in time.

Thanks

Chris

This seems odd to me because your company WANT you to go to Sydney to work for them. If there is a potential problem with your visa then wouldn't they have considered this already? See whichever department of your company is organising it and ask them. Or contact the Immigration Dept yourself.

As I say, it seems odd. Why would you worry about a problem with your visa when your company already wants you to go? If you can't go, you can't go. Problem solved. You won't get in without the visa.

Email my friend Tom in Sydney to see what kind of jobs you can do if you like. He is in IT recruitment.

"Tom Hitchcock" <tom@it-matters.com.au>,

Companies often don't know much about visas. My husbands employer wanted to sponsor him, but they couldn't.

I had two employers try to sponsor me while I was in the uk, and one here in oz and they couldn't. Even the (waste of money) agents didn't know the rules well enough to tell them they couldn't sponsor me. Willingness doesn't equal ability.

It is a 457 visa ... I doubt very much that a degree is required. Why do you think that it is?