Been in Brisbane 1 month now...

DDash

... and I still only know one person!

Hello, I am a guy from London, 36 years old, moved to Brisbane last month and I now live in the city and work in the Valley.

I am doing OK and love it here, but it would be GREAT to have some friends to meet up with for drinks and maybe some trips etc. (Sightseeing trips, not LSD/Acid).

The one guy who I do know from home is not in my age group.

I am pretty quiet and reserved with new people who I dont know, so find it hard to speak to strangers without reason and a bit unnerving meeting a group of 20 all at once... hence this little message!

It would be good to hear from anyone in the same situation 10 years or so either side of my own age. Where do you go? What do you do?

IS ANYBODY OUT THERE? lol

Hi all of you that replied, and thanks.

Tickled Pink- Im not really into conventional sports like football and rugby myself, I am a mechanic (Jaguar Master Technician when im trying to impress lol) and quite into my cars and motorbikes etc. anything with wheels for me! As for what I like to talk about, I guess I like to find out information to be honest, its just my nature. So I will usually like ask about where people have been and what they have seen and done travelling, love to hear about adventures!... or maybe just what was on tv last night?!

Nevermind, hopefully I will start to meet people through `everyday life` soon... otherwise hit me up people!

Hey guys, i was in exactly the same position as you guys. I know DDash is more into cars and by the way Jaguar Master Technician does sound pretty impressive but I was in the same position as I did now know anyone when i first moved so I have set up a social 5-a-side football group that will soon become a mini league for people new to Brisbane.

It will be a more social than serious league and after the games we have an offer for drink and food specials at the nearest bar so we can all relive the game highlights!