Electronic Security Queensland?

Hi Nearlythere1,

I can only partially answer your question as I am a security technician who has not made the move yet, we are moving to Brisbane in September.

I contacted http://www.fairtrading.qld.gov.au who are the issuing authority for the security licence in qld to ask about obtaining the licence from the UK this was their reply:

If you visit our website - http://www.fairtrading.qld.gov.au there you will find the application form you will need to complete plus information regarding the licence. The form is a SPA1-2.

As we will have a price rise in July it would be best that you didn't complete and send the application until after that date.

You will need to have your fingerprints taken, but that can't be done until you arrive in Australia as we need to send you a letter to present at a police station. Also, we require you to send 2 passport size photos certified by a person who has known you for over 12 months and 100 points of ID certified by a Justice of the Peace, Commissioner for Declarations, Solicitor or Notary Public. All this information is on the application form.

It would probably be best to wait until you arrive and have a permanent residential address for us to send any correspondence to.

Our processing times are 4-6 weeks.

i also asked for clarification as to wether the person certifying the photos needs to be an Australian resident and their reply was that they do not. They can also be a relative which I did find odd but it makes it easier for me so no complaints there.

From what I have read you cannot gain clearance for gov or military roles until you are a citizen.

I hope this helps.

Regards

w1

Hi w1,