Mrs

Toni&Paddy

Hi my names Toni, I am new to this chat.  I’m looking for any advise, me my husband and 3 children aged 9, 7 and 5 have just returned from visiting family in Perth.  I have my brother, his wife and daughter, my cousin, husband and children also a auntie and her extended family who are all Australian Citizens.  We would love to go back there to live and bring our children up there as it’s an amazing country.  Unfortunately we don’t have skilled jobs off the list.  I work as a health care assistant in a hospital and my husband a train guard. We have lots of family support over there, does anybody have any help, tips or  advise to offer on what we could do next?  Thanks xx

Retrain into something that might one day be on a skilled list - but something that you really really want to do for the rest of your days just in case that occupation falls off the list. Failing that, just enjoy  the lovely long holidays you get in UK and go for visits. 

Don't worry if it doesn't happen though, it's just another first world country.

I am afraid at the moment you don't qualify for a visa as you need an occupation on the skilled occupation lists. Having family there doesn't really help. 

You retrain, but, you would need to do it knowing that any occupation you retrain into might no longer be eligible by the time you are eligible. Also, you would likely be facing issues with the age cut off as it would take several years to retrain, but the age cut off is 45 and as approaching it, it gets harder to get enough points. Most occupations also require several years post qualification experience. 

I am afraid at the moment you don't qualify for a visa as you need an occupation on the skilled occupation lists. Having family there doesn't really help.