UK tax paid on UK local government pension

akiralx

I have just started receiving a small pension from my old Local Government Pension Scheme, I have been a tax resident of Australia since 2009 (citizen since 2014).

The pension is UKP 6,927 per year so well under the UK personal allowance of UKP 12,570 - my tax code is 1257L M1. The M1 is an emergency code which I understand means 'Calculate your employee’s tax only on what they are paid in the current pay period, not the whole year'.  Is it likely HMRC will amend the code?

The first pension payment (which includes 2 months of arrears) has been taxed at around 7.8% - am I right in thinking that at the end of the UK tax year 2024/5 the pension fund will repay me the tax as it is under the allowance, or do I need to submit an 'application for relief at source from UK Income Tax' form?   My hope is to only pay tax on it here.

Many thanks

7 minutes ago, akiralx said:

am I right in thinking that at the end of the UK tax year 2024/5 the pension fund will repay me the tax as it is under the allowance, or do I need to submit an 'application for relief at source from UK Income Tax' form?   My hope is to only pay tax on it here.

How would the pension fund know you are under the allowance, since they don't know what other income you have? 

2 hours ago, Marisawright said:

How would the pension fund know you are under the allowance, since they don't know what other income you have? 

They don't, I agree - I suppose I'm asking why they are deducting anything when they know the pension they are paying is below 12,570 p.a.? 

Edited by akiralx

You should be taxed on the pension by the ATO. You need to declare it on your tax return. 
However to stop tax being deducted at source there is a form to fill in sorry I can’t remember exactly but I found it online. You send it to the ATO who then endorse it and send it to HMRC, who then tell the pension company to stop deducting at source. It can take a while…..