meet new friends in your 30s?! its hard!

Guest ric

Never been on any kind of 'forum' before so be gentle.. Gotta give it a go though - never known it so hard to make new friends till now... anyway I'm a hard working musician/composer stuck out in the stick of Liverpool/South West Sydney. Can't believe I've been in Oz for 4 years now but I can count the number of regular drinking buddies on 2 fingers! Not like the UK - used to have loads of great nights out! Still I keep trying.

Anyway, enough moaning - I'm a fun guy and very easy to get on with, I'm married with a little one on the way - I do a pretty anti-social job from home so don't get chance to meet new people much.. Does any one fancy a beer? Can do the city no probs...

Guest The Pom Queen

Hi Ric

Welcome to PIO, you are right it is harder to meet friends the older you get. Have you any hobbies as this sometimes gets people together. Hopefully someone will contact you soon and you will be able to get a few drinking buddies together.

Kate

good luck with your little one!! such exciting times, I know what you mean with the friends thing, it is hard....... i also know as a composer/musician it is a wonderful but solitary existance, my husband is also a composer and used to work from home with logic......it was great because we spent alot of time together but now he works for a studio full time. anyway , we have a one year old which makes it easier to meet people but you have to go along to as many things as possible .....some not always fun ....others a bit more....but once your baby comes along you will definately make friends easier because there is always something to talk about!! good luck with your music and your baby .