mortgage help

kellyjay

hi all,

can anyone offer me some advise on mortgages.

we are heading to perth probally around sept, 175 visa hubbie is wall and floor tiler. had lots of info on what he can earn but i dont think we can be really sure on this untill we arrive.

so questions are;-

how long do we have to be in oz before we can apply for a mortgage?

what is the avarage mortgage to have in oz?

many thanks to you all.

kelly.x

Hi Kelly

The average mortgage size will vary state to state, but the national average late last year was around the $350,000 mark.

You can apply for a mortgage immediately, but you'd obviously need to satisfy the banks normal lending criteria when applying for a home loan so you'd be looking at letters of employment / pay slips / contract of employment or documents showing income from investments, or other sources etc.

HI Kelly.

I'm a mortgage broker based here in Perth's northern suburbs.

You'll love it here!

Where abouts in Perth are you thinking of going?

Mortgage wise, it will depend on your visa how big a deposit you will need. Most lenders will want you on a perm job for 3 months before applying.

Most people will recommend that you rent initially, until you decide where in Perth you exactly want to be (its a big place).

My average mortgage size last year was around the $400,000 mark, but if you were located near the sea, then this is much higher.

In general, the further from the city and the further from the beach, the cheaper the prices.

Obviously, like anywhere in the world, theres good areas and bad areas mixed in.

PM me if you want me to give you some quotes.

Guest sappyigor