Arriving in Perth July anyone fancy meeting up?

Guest chrisandemma

Guest chrisandemma

Hi to all who are moving to or in Perth!

Me and my husband (both 29) are emigrating July 30th- not long now and very excited! We live in Gateshead but I’m originally from North Wales and my husband is from Banbury. We are really keen to meet up with like-minded people. It would be lovely to meet anyone who enjoys keeping fit, enjoys a coffee or a glass of wine, walks along the beach, bbq's, anything really! My husband is a keen climber and mountain biker- he’s added a few threads on his interests!

We are starting off in Joondalup and hope to find a long term rental wherever we get our first job. I am a secondary french teacher, my husband works in marketing. If anyone can give some advice on relief/supply teaching work and who to contact that would be great!

Looking forward to meeting whoever is interested soon!

Can’t wait!

Emma

Hi Emma

I can give you a bit of advice on the whole teaching thing over here, you need to register with WACOT to work in any school, and if you plan to work in a state school you need to register with the Department of Education. If you haven't already I would start these now as it took forever to get things sorted! As far as getting relief work you need to get in touch with individual schools yourself. You can register with Class Professionals, an agency for relief work, if you're interested in long term work also check out Smart Teachers. I've been lucky, after 2 weeks of relief work I've ended up with permanent relief work in the same school so I know where I'm going everyday!

PS How's life in the North East? I'm from Newcastle, I worked in Wallsend for a few years and Consett for a while.

If you've got any questions just ask!

Cheryl

Guest chrisandemma

Hi Cheryl,