planning advice please ;)

Guest RedSquirrel

Guest RedSquirrel

hello beautiful people!

ok i am currently planning my working holiday visa trip to oz!

I am such a bad planner though....im not gonna lie, i just normally wing these things but this is my first travelling trip alone so i need to plan to an extent.. can any one who has been already give me some advice.

my basic plan is to fly to sydney at the beginning of may, I have a degree in Environmental conservation so eventually I want to gain experience it that field. Was thinking of heading north for the winter to get my second year visa either farm work or wwoofing work.

But i need to know the practical stuff, things i actually need to plan or to sort out before i go!

get in touch any advice would be helpful

xxx:hug:

:)

From my experience it is best to have a rough idea of where and what you want to do in Oz but you really don't need to book trips or accommodation(except maybe first few nights) until you get here. It really is best to see where your travels take you and so often you meet people who doing something and maybe it's something you hadn't thought of - so my advice - to really enjoy your experience here - go with the flow!Enjoy!

Guest orangepeelskin

You are definitely going to need to plan, but not your trip......you'll need to plan a bank robbery as the cost of living here is astronomical.

• 3 weeks later...
Guest littlesarah

How expensive it is depends on where you live, how much you earn, and of course how you live. I don't find it mega-expensive in general, but then I'm a 30-something with a full-time job who doesn't go out partying much any more!

Living in shared accommodation and/or a campervan or tent is always going to be cheaper than renting a place by yourself; likewise living in a large city tends to cost more than being in the country (or suburbs).