Non driving social worker.. Sponsorship???

I am a uk social worker with 3 years exp, 1 of that in child protection. At the mo we are awaiting to hear back from vic re ss, applied 21 weeks ago! Sick of waiting!

I see that ppl have got a employer sponsorship in a week!! I've asked if reed ( employment agency) would sponsor me but said no as don't drive! Can't drive due to my epilepsy! Does anybody know if 'oz' sponsor non drivers?? Don't think so but thought I'd ask!

How much is a social worker on with over 3 years exp??

OP cant legally drive due to epilepsy.

Not necessarliy true, I have epilepsy and can drive legally. Driving laws & epilepsy are more relaxed in Aus too, in the waiting times until you can drive are shorter.

But as a social worker about to move to Aus I've looked into this and there is no way you'll get a social work job if you cant drive and unlike the UK they dont have to offer you the job anyway under DDA.

Have you been to Australia? It's pretty much impossible unless you were working solely in the CBD to work as a social worker without a car. Public transport is not like it is the UK and almost non exisitent in some places. Then there are the many clients who live out in rural locations even though your office may be based in a big town/city.

Guest Bobby

A lot of social work in Oz is voluntary, but someone with higher skills has to run them I expect, as others have said you NEED to drive in Oz to be honest.

Not necessarliy true.
I think in the case of the OP it must be true at least in the UK anyway, he/she thanked me for my post.

Rules might be more relaxed in Australia (or not) but since you don't know the severity of the OP condition you cant judge whether he/she would be comfortable driving. Only they can make that call.

Guest Bobby

Patients must be seizure-free for 3–6 months for recently-diagnosed seizures, and for two years for chronic epilepsy[7][8]. Exact laws vary by territory[9].

Guest siamsusie