IELTS-not taken any notice of comments written due2not needing2do it..up until now!

My OH has submitted an application to both VIC and WA, more optomistic about hearing back from WA, as been waiting since 4th November 2010 from VIC.

If those both fail, I am a Social Worker and about to submit my skills assessment form in when completed.(Got some questions that need clarifying before I do so- on a previous thread about AASW form) Very worried about not recievig it back and send getting DIAC form in on time, very likely I wont get it back in time of the July deadline.

Hence the need to know how hard the IELTS is. I understand there are several acedemic and something else. HOw does it all work? How easy is it to pass? (Get 8) Do you have to be a rocket scientist to get 8 in all 4?

Thanks In Advance,

Aymie

Aymie, there are two IELTS tests, general and academic and most people will just need to do the general.

It is not that difficult for a native speaker; the speaking section is just having a conversation and the listening involves listening to very short bursts of taped conversation and answering some simple questions about what was said. No time for day dreaming but it is quite easy for a native if you pay attention.

Reading and writing are a little more challenging and please do not get upset about my next comment, but you will need to brush up on your spelling and grammar beforhand if you need to get an 8.

Good luck.

offence..not offense ha

:wink:

I was going to say that but you picked up yourself. Also it's grammar not grammer. Writing not writting. If you think you might lose a mark for each little mistake, you can see how easy it would be to miss out on an 8.

I would recommend that you take a little more care with punctuation and sentence construction, make sure you read everything back properly and leave enough room to make corrections if required.