How does everyone afford the move?!

kate2000

Hi

My husband and I are considering a move to melbourne (as that is where all my dad's family live):wacko::unsure: with our two young children (3 years and 8month), and we are looking at all our options. I am a nurse and he is a chemist so, from what i can see on the occupations in demand, we should both be able to find work ok.

The question i want to ask, is how did everyone manage to afford a move down under? I may be assuming wrongly, but i am guessing not everyone who has moved to australia had thousands upon thousands saved, and no negative equity on their house!

We have about 10k neg equity on our house - and limited savings.

How do people afford the big move!!!

Sorry if this is a daft question but we are racking our brains trying to work out how everyone manages to do it!!

Thank you for reading!

Kate

I do not recommend anyone moving with very limited funds, especially if you are a family. It will be very difficult unless you have help (like free lodging etc)

Most people sell their house and have savings which they bring some or all (doubt it with current exchange!) over here.

Then there are those with a dream to move to OZ, but are poor like me. How I did it? I sold my car, my bike, saved like hell before coming (only managed to save 12K after all the expenses to move) and did lots and lots of planning....like securing a cheap rent, buying cheap or 2nd hand stuff until you are on your feet in OZ, sleep on mattresses on the floor, get a free stained sofa and furniture for free from gumtree, buy a cheap reliable car (and I got lucky here!) etc etc.

If you get lucky, you'll stay, unlike me, as I have to pack everything and go back (thank GOD there is the European visa to pay the shipping back lol) since wife didn't stick and fell sick.