do you REALLY have a better life in oz???

kate2000

Hi, not sure if we are being naive or looking through rose tinted specs, so maybe someone can enlighten us!

We are a married couple with 2 young children in UK. I am a part time nurse on about £17k and my husband is a chemist on £28 k. We just about get to zero each month after all our outgoings and believe me, we are not living a flamboyant life!!! No take aways, weekends away etc!

Our thoughts about moving down under.....we want a more outdoor life..to be able to plan your weekend activities without wondering what the weather will be like. Our salaries in melbourne would equate to about 120k aus dollars. Which initially we thought too good to be true! But upon looking at cost of living etc would we really be much better off?? Ideally we Love the idea of a swimming pool, bbqs all the time etc but is this reality? Do people really have the life that is portrayed on tv?! Or is it a case of the grass is never greener?!

Look forward to all the responses!!!

• Replies 120
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest The Ropey HOFF

Our friends and relatives have this brilliant life in Australia, they have the fantastic houses, with swimming pools, or a jacuzzi, they all have great outdoor areas, big patio areas, with loungy chairs to sit out on at night and they all have these huge barbecues, its a OZ thing. You can't plan anything here in the uk, you can't book a week off in July or August say and be guaranteed nice weather, in fact it might be horrible the whole time, we all know this and the decent weather we do have, only lasts briefly before the long grey grim winter starts again. If you want this dream life, then you sure can get it, in ............... Australia.

Best of luck.