Help! 10 years and still not settled.

Guest Dodgekya

Guest Dodgekya

Hi all,

I am located in Melbourne East, I have just joined PIO today - I am looking for social groups for my brother and myself to join.

I have been in Aus since 1991 and have settled with a wife etc and have friends that I have met through high school.

My brother moved here from Colchester a lot later, (2002) and has seriously struggled to meet people of his own kind that he can share common interests with.

He is 39 years old, a brick layer by trade, has two staffies and enjoys a drink on the weekends. He also enjoys his music and has his own turn tables that he mixes on.

Being in his late twenties when he moved to Australia and working in the building trade he has struggled to meet people that have the same interests as him and in turn tends to have little enthusiasm for anything now a days.

I think often that there MUST be other people out there that have had the same issues settling into the 'Aussie' life style and meeting like minded people.

If any one has ideas on social gathering or sites that we could maybe look at to help my brother settle in I would be very much appreciative.

Cheers

Dodgekya

Someone told me about this organization a few weeks back in Sydney and they have chapters all over OZ. I'd never heard of them before and it sounds like something with possibilities.

http://www.meetup.com/cities/au/melbourne/

Or maybe just join some clubs that reflect your interests. 'Google' will probably turn some up or look at what is offered at Community Colleges. Shared interests often cut across nationalities. Have you got football clubs you follow? I meet up with fellow Spurs fans once or twice a week to watch games, as many Aussies as Pommies go too.